For the first few weeks of summer (and keep in mind summer is only 12 weeks at MOST here) I am just so darn excited to see my grill over the snowbanks that it seems like all we eat is burgers and hotdogs, and maybe a marinated chicken breast. I make big batches of potato salad that my husband refuses to eat and will invariably be thrown away, and stalk the farmers markets for the first strawberries. Summer cooking at it’s best is simple, and can all be done one handed, with a full glass of ice cold white wine, or a can of bud light always within reach. And it’s always satisfying. 

But after a few weeks of the burger and salads routine, I start to get itchy. My knife and spatula skills get rusty, and the farmers markets explode with the fresh produce I dream about 9 months of the year. Lettuces, kale, cucumbers, onions, garlic, squash, zucchini, corn, tomatoes!!!!!. I kinda lose it a little bit… And this year I made it all worse by going to North Carolina, and hauling home 35 lbs of Summer Lady peaches as my carry on.                                                                                                                                              

I found an awesome rub in the IGA down the road from my Granny’s house in Tryon, NC called Bad Byron’s Butt Rub. It came home with the peaches, and wound up as dinner tonight. Easiest meal ever, and a very satisfied husband!                                                                                                                                                         Rub your favorite rub, or hell, toss some of your favorite bbq sauce in a baggie with a nice thick pork chop (Fischer Farm’s here) for a few hours, throw on a hot grill. I stripped 2 ears of Silver Queen corn, chopped a few handfuls of green beans, and seeded and diced 2 tomatoes. Threw it all in a skillet with some olive oil and sauteed til the corn started to loose it’s opacity. Finished it with some butter and salt and pepper. While the veggies were cooking I peeled a peach, split it, and tossed it on the hot grill until it started to get soft. Dinner is served!                                                                                                                                                                 anna

 

 

 

